Hate in Europe – in the context of migration. With Juliana Wahlgren (ENAR)

Hate in Europe - in the context of migration. With Juliana Wahlgren (ENAR)
  • Date & Time
    23/05/2017, 10:00
  • Location
    Konferenzraum der Schwarzkopf-Stiftung
  • Guest(s)
    Juliana Wahlgren, Senior Advocacy and Network Development Officer at the European Network Against Racism (ENAR)
  • Cooperation
    Im Rahmen des Bundesprogramms "Demokratie leben!"

Since 2015 violent attacks and agitation against refugees and people marked as “foreign” across Europe has reached a new maximum.

On a per capita basis, Great Britain lead the statstic of hate crimes in 2015, according to crime statistics. But who measures hate crimes at all? What were the effects of the increase in hatred and violence on public discourse and policy decisions in the individual EU countries over the last two years?

This week the European Network Against Racism presented its current annual report 2015/16 in Brussels to the European Parliament and stakeholders from civil society. With Juliana Wahlgren we will talk about the necessary measures to counter racism and discrimination in Europe. We would like to discuss this  and other questions with you over some coffee and a snack.

We are very pleased about your participation and would like you to register by 22nd May online or by e-mail. By attending the event, you agree that the photos taken there may be used for purposes of publicity.

This event is funded through the federal programme „Demokratie leben!“ by the Federal Ministry for Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth.

Bookings

Bookings are closed for this event.

Hass in Europa – Im Kontext von Flucht und Migration. Mit Juliana Wahlgren (ENAR)

Hass in Europa - Im Kontext von Flucht und Migration. Mit Juliana Wahlgren (ENAR)
  • Datum & Zeit
    23/05/2017, 10:00
  • Veranstaltungsort
    Konferenzraum der Schwarzkopf-Stiftung
  • Zu Gast
    Juliana Wahlgren, Senior Advocacy and Network Development Officer at the European Network Against Racism (ENAR)
  • Kooperation
    Im Rahmen des Bundesprogramms "Demokratie leben!"

Seit 2015 erreichen gewalttätige Übergriffe und Hetze gegen Flüchtlinge und als „ausländisch“ markierte Menschen europaweit Höchstwerte. Pro Kopf gerechnet lag Großbritannien 2015 laut der Kriminalitätsstatistik vorne. Aber wer misst überhaupt Hasskriminalität? Welche Auswirkungen hatten der Anstieg von Hass und Gewalt im öffentlichen Diskurs und auf Politikentscheidungen in den einzelnen Ländern der EU in den letzten zwei Jahren?

In dieser Woche hat das Europäische Netzwerk gegen Rassismus sein aktuelles Jahresgutachten 2015/16 in Brüssel dem Europäischen Parlament und zivilgesellschaftlichen Akteuren vorgestellt. Wir sprechen mit Juliana Wahlgren darüber, welche Maßnahmen notwendig sind, um Rassismus und Diskriminierung in Europa entgegen zu treten. Über diese und weitere Fragen möchten wir mit Ihnen bei Kaffee und einem Snack diskutieren.

Diese Veranstaltung wird in englischer Sprache stattfinden.

Über Ihre Teilnahme freuen wir uns sehr und bitten um Anmeldung bis zum 22. Mai online oder per E-Mail. Durch Ihre Anwesenheit bei der Veranstaltung stimmen Sie zu, dass die dort entstandenen Fotos für Zwecke der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit verwendet werden dürfen.

Die Veranstaltung wird im Rahmen des Bundesprogramms „Demokratie leben!“ vom Bundesfamilienministerium gefördert.

Anmeldung

Eine Anmeldung für diese Veranstaltung ist leider nicht mehr möglich.