Mobility and minorities in the focus of our Young European awardees 2017

The Schwarzkopf Foundation is proud to announce its this year’s Young European of the Year 2017 awardees. On the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the award, two extraordinary people were chosen by the jury as award winners.

Nozizwe Dube (20) is actively shaping Flemish politics through her presidency of the Flemish Youth Council, making the voice of young people in Flanders more present in political decision-making and by emphasising the importance of youth work. She was born in Zimbabwe and moved to Belgium 7 years ago. She has also been especially engaged in making minorities more visible and in speaking about several European topics such as the right to vote at the age of 16 and the consequences of the Brexit vote for young people in Europe. She firmly believes in a strong Europe and the role that all young Europeans, regardless of their background, play in shaping the future of the EU.

Haris Kušmić (24) is the founder and president of the national chapter of the European Youth Parliament in Bosnia and Herzegovina. Through his organisation, more than 2,000 young people from Bosnia and Herzegovina participated in exchange activities in the country and abroad. He has engaged in exceptional voluntary work to support the vision of European integration in a post-conflict country, giving a voice to a new brilliant generation.

This year’s jury for the Young European was chaired by Dina Behnke from the Representation of the European Commission in Berlin. Other jury members included André Schmitz-Schwarzkopf and Maria Tandeck, the Young European of the Year 2010.

The award ceremony will be held in Berlin, Germany on April 24th, 2017. The Schwarzkopf Foundation wants to thank all nominees and finalists for the Young European of the Year, and hopes to inspire a round of fresh nominee ideas from amongst active young people in Europe for the year 2018!

Mobilität und Minderheiten sind die Themen unserer Jungen Europäer*innen des Jahres 2017

Die Schwarzkopf-Stiftung Junges Europa freut sich, die diesjährigen Preisträger*innen des Preises Junge*r Europäer*in des Jahres vorzustellen. Zum 20. Jubiläum des Preises werden dieses Jahr zwei herausragende junge Persönlichkeiten ausgezeichnet.

Nozizwe Dube (20) steuert aktiv die Politik in Flandern durch ihren Vorsitz des Flämischen Jugendraats, durch das sie die Stimme von jungen Menschen in Flandern in politische Entscheidungen trägt und die Rolle von Jugendarbeit betont. Nozizwe wurde in Zimbabwe geboren und zog vor 7 Jahren nach Belgien. Sie hat sich besonders für Minderheitsthemen stark gemacht, aber auch bei anderen europäischer Themen, wie etwa dem Wahlrecht mit 16 Jahren und den Auswirkungen des Brexit auf junge Menschen, eingebracht. Sie ist der Überzeugung, dass alle jungen Europäer*innen, egal mit welchen Hintergründen, die Zukunft Europas gestalten sollen.

Haris Kušmić (24) ist Gründer und Präsident des nationalen Komitees des Europäischen Jugendparlaments in Bosnien-Herzegowina. Seine Organisation hat mehr als 2000 junge Menschen aus dem Land in Austauschaktivitäten in Bosnien-Herzegowina sowie im europäischen Ausland beteiligt. Er hat sich auf außergewöhnliche Art ehrenamtlich engagiert und die Vision von europäischen Integration in einem Nachkriegsland unterstützt, in dem er einer neuen Generation eine Stimme verliehen hat.

Die Jury des Preises „Junge*r Europäer*in des Jahres“ wurde dieses Jahr geleitet von Frau Dina Behnke aus der Vertretung der Europäischen Kommission in Deutschland. Weitere Jurymitglieder waren André Schmitz-Schwarzkopf und Maria Tandeck, die Junge Europäerin des Jahres 2010.

Die Preise werden am 24. April 2017 an die beiden Preisträger*innen in Berlin verliehen. Die Schwarzkopf-Stiftung bedankt sich bei allen diesjährigen Nominierten und Finalisten, und freut sich bereits auf die nächste Nominierungsrunde für den/die Junge Europäer*in 2018!