50 Years Schwarzkopf Foundation Young Europe

We are very happy about the birthday greetings from friends and partners of the Foundation! In short videos and letters they share their memories, wishes and perspectives for Europe and the Foundation. The German President Frank-Walter Steinmeier also congratulates the Foundation on its 50th anniversary and shares his perspective on the young Europe. You can find his letter here.


On April 1, 2021, the Schwarzkopf Foundation Young Europe will turn 50. Much has changed since then – Europe, its society and our foundation itself. Europe remains an idea that needs young, pluralistic perspectives. The foundation’s purpose has been based on this idea from the very beginning: for five decades now, we have been promoting young perspectives on an open, democratic and pluralistic Europe.

Since its inception in 1971, the foundation has grown, added new programme areas, changed its location, specified its purpose, and expanded its reach beyond Germany. Today, our team is larger and more diverse than ever before, working in six programme areas and implementing projects related to education, dialogue, and participation for young people across Europe. Together with our three major youth networks, our team, and all of our other young, committed participants, we look back on 50 years of young Europe:

1971: On April 1, the “Heinz-Schwarzkopf Foundation Young Europe” is founded in Hamburg by Pauline Schwarzkopf. In memory of her husband and the horrors of war, she gave the foundation the task of promoting the idea of European unification and peace among young people.

1970s: Until the 1980s, Pauline Schwarzkopf participated in almost all of the foundation’s political seminars and accompanied almost every study trip to the European institutions of Strasbourg, Luxembourg and Brussels. At the end of the 1970s, despite the Iron Curtain, the foundation was the first non-partisan organisation to take young people to political seminars in Poland and the GDR in order to exchange ideas and perspectives on European issues.

1997: The award “Young European of the Year” is established and has since promoted young commitment to a peaceful Europe.

2000: The foundation moves to Berlin.

2003: The Schwarzkopf Europe Award is established, enabling young Europeans to honour their own role models who actively shape the development towards a peaceful and pluralistic Europe.

2004: The European Youth Parliament (EYP), one of the largest youth organisations in Europe, becomes part of the foundation’s network.

2008: A historical expertise on the life and work of Heinz Schwarzkopf, commissioned on the occasion of Pauline Schwarzkopf’s 100th birthday in 2008, reveals his Nazi past, having been a member of the National Socialist Party and the Schutzstaffel (SS) during his lifetime. These findings lead to the renaming of the foundation to “Schwarzkopf-Stiftung Young Europe“, honouring the life and work of Pauline Schwarzkopf. In responsibility towards history and the present, the foundation’s charter was amended, explicitly adding the goals of fighting right-wing extremism, racism and anti-Semitism.

2014: The Margot Friedländer Award is established to support students in remembering the Holocaust and in taking a stand against current forms of racism and anti-Semitism.

2013-14: The EU-Crash-Course “Understanding Europe” expands its reach and, for the first time, brings European topics into classrooms all over the continent.

2019: The Young Islam Conference becomes part of the foundation, expanding its work to include a platform in which the post-migrant generation can engage in constructive exchange on topics related to the migration society.

2020: The educational programmes “Young Ambassadors against Anti-Semitism” and “Postmigrant Europe” are launched. The foundation also becomes part of the Competence Network “Living Together in Migration Societies”.

During our anniversary year and beyond, we have planned various events in which we take a close look at our own as well as Europe’s history from a contemporary perspective. We will also be awarding the European Schwarzkopf Composition Award on a one-off basis. Together with the Berliner Philharmoniker and its Karajan-Akademie, we are giving one young composer the opportunity to follow the work of one the world’s best orchestras for an entire season.

The first awardee in the 2021/22 season will be the Armenian composer Hovik Sardaryan. Find more information about the scholarship recipient and the new scholarship in this German press release here.

Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this

50 Jahre Schwarzkopf-Stiftung Junges Europa

Am 1. April 2021 wird die Schwarzkopf-Stiftung Junges Europa 50 Jahre alt. Vieles hat sich seitdem verändert – Europa, seine Gesellschaft und die Stiftung selbst. Europa bleibt weiterhin eine Idee, die junge, pluralistische Perspektiven braucht. Auf diesem Gedanken beruht seit ihrer Gründung der Zweck der Stiftung: Seit nun schon fünf Jahrzehnten fördern wir junge Perspektiven auf ein offenes, demokratisches und pluralistisches Europa.

Seit der Gründung 1971 ist die Stiftung gewachsen, hat neue Programmbereiche hinzugewonnen, die Stadt gewechselt, den Stiftungszweck konkretisiert und ihren Wirkungsbereich über Deutschland hinaus erweitert. Heute sind wir ein größeres und vielfältigeres Team als jemals zuvor, das in sechs Programmbereichen arbeitet und Bildungs-, Dialog- und Partizipationsprojekte für junge Menschen in ganz Europa umsetzt. Gemeinsam mit unseren drei großen Jugendnetzwerken und allen anderen jungen, engagierten Teilnehmenden, blicken wir zurück auf 50 Jahre junges Europa:

1971: Am 1. April wird in Hamburg die Heinz-Schwarzkopf-Stiftung Junges Europa von Pauline Schwarzkopf gegründet. In Erinnerung an ihren Mann und die Schrecken des Krieges gab sie der Stiftung die Aufgabe, den europäischen Einigungs- und Friedensgedanken unter jungen Menschen zu fördern.

1970er: Bis in die 1980er-Jahre nahm Pauline Schwarzkopf an nahezu allen politischen Seminaren der Stiftung teil und begleitete fast jede Studienreise zu den europäischen Institutionen in Brüssel, Straßburg und Luxemburg. Als erste überparteiliche Organisation fuhr die Stiftung Ende der siebziger Jahre trotz des Eisernen Vorhangs mit Jugendlichen zu europapolitischen Begegnungen nach Polen und in die DDR.

1997: Der Preis „Junge*r Europäer*in des Jahres“ wird erstmals vergeben und fördert seither junges Engagement für ein friedliches Europa.

2000: Die Stiftung zieht um nach Berlin.

2003: Der „Schwarzkopf-Europa-Preis“ wird ins Leben gerufen und ermöglicht jungen Europäer*innen, eigene Vorbilder und Zukunftsgestalter*innen eines friedlichen und pluralistischen Europas auszuzeichnen.

2004: Das European Youth Parliament (EYP), eine der größten Jugendorganisationen Europas, wird Teil der Stiftungsarbeit.  

2008: Ein anlässlich des 100. Geburtstages der Stifterin in Auftrag gegebenes historisches Gutachten über das Leben und Wirken von Heinz Schwarzkopf offenbart seine NS-Vergangenheit als Mitglied der SA und der SS. Die Erkenntnisse führen zur Umbenennung in Schwarzkopf-Stiftung Junges Europa. Die Arbeit der Stiftung wird seither der Gründerin Pauline Schwarzkopf gewidmet. In Verantwortung gegenüber der Geschichte und der Gegenwart wird die Satzung der Stiftung explizit um das Ziel der Bekämpfung von Rechtsextremismus, Rassismus und Antisemitismus erweitert.

2014: Der „Margot-Friedländer-Preis“ wird ins Leben gerufen, der Schüler*innen darin unterstützt, an den Holocaust zu erinnern und sich gegen aktuelle Formen von Rassismus und Antisemitismus zu engagieren. 

2013-14: Der EU-Kompaktkurs “Europa verstehen” erreicht Schüler*innen erstmals überregional und bringt seine Themen in die Klassenzimmer vieler Länder Europas.

2019: Das Dialogforum Junge Islam Konferenz (JIK) wird Teil der Stiftung. Das Projekt erweitert die Stiftungsarbeit um eine Plattform, in der sich die postmigrantische Generation konstruktiv zu Themen der Migrationsgesellschaft auszutauschen können.

2020: Die Bildungsprogramme „Young Ambassadors against Antisemitism” und „Postmigrant Europe“ wurden ins Leben gerufen und die Stiftung wird Teil des Kompetenznetzwerks „Zusammenleben in der Einwanderungsgesellschaft“.

In unserem Jubiläumsjahr und darüber hinaus haben wir verschiedene Veranstaltungen geplant, in denen wir die Geschichte der Stiftung und Europas der vergangenen 50 Jahre unter aktuellen Gesichtspunkten betrachten. Außerdem vergeben wir einmalig den europäischen Schwarzkopf-Kompositionspreis. Zusammen mit den Berliner Philharmonikern und ihrer Karajan-Akademie geben wir einem oder einer jungen Komponist*in die Möglichkeit, während einer Spielzeit die Arbeit der Philharmoniker tagtäglich zu begleiten.

 

Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this