Mobility and minorities in the focus of our Young European awardees 2017

The Schwarzkopf Foundation is proud to announce its this year’s Young European of the Year 2017 awardees. On the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the award, two extraordinary people were chosen by the jury as award winners.

Nozizwe Dube (20) is actively shaping Flemish politics through her presidency of the Flemish Youth Council, making the voice of young people in Flanders more present in political decision-making and by emphasising the importance of youth work. She was born in Zimbabwe and moved to Belgium 7 years ago. She has also been especially engaged in making minorities more visible and in speaking about several European topics such as the right to vote at the age of 16 and the consequences of the Brexit vote for young people in Europe. She firmly believes in a strong Europe and the role that all young Europeans, regardless of their background, play in shaping the future of the EU.

Haris Kušmić (24) is the founder and president of the national chapter of the European Youth Parliament in Bosnia and Herzegovina. Through his organisation, more than 2,000 young people from Bosnia and Herzegovina participated in exchange activities in the country and abroad. He has engaged in exceptional voluntary work to support the vision of European integration in a post-conflict country, giving a voice to a new brilliant generation.

This year’s jury for the Young European was chaired by Dina Behnke from the Representation of the European Commission in Berlin. Other jury members included André Schmitz-Schwarzkopf and Maria Tandeck, the Young European of the Year 2010.

The award ceremony will be held in Berlin, Germany on April 24th, 2017. The Schwarzkopf Foundation wants to thank all nominees and finalists for the Young European of the Year, and hopes to inspire a round of fresh nominee ideas from amongst active young people in Europe for the year 2018!