Looking for the Young European of the Year 2020

Call for nominations is closed

The Schwarzkopf Foundation is looking for the Young European of the year 2020!
The award is given to young people who have distinguished themselves in an exemplary manner concerning their honorary commitment and dedication in the support of international understanding and/or the integration of Europe. Young committed people who are active in a member state of the Council of Europe and are between 18 and 26 years old can be nominated. The award is endowed with € 5.000, which can be used for a European project or an internship at a European or international organisation. The winner will also be part of a European network and the jury of the Schwarzkopf Europe Award. 

Who can be nominated 

Young people can be nominated who  

  • are at least 18 and not older than 26 years old  
  • support European integration or international understanding in Europe through outstanding commitment 
  • are active in a member state of the Council of Europe.


How can people be nominated 

All nominations can be submitted until Jan. 15th 2020. The best nominees will be invited to Berlin for a personal interview with the jury in English in spring 2020. The jury consists of representatives of the European Youth Forum, the Representation of the European Commission in Germany, the Schwarzkopf Foundation and former prize winners. The award ceremony will take place in Brussels in spring 2020.  

What does the prize include?

The prize is endowed with € 5.000, which can either be used for an internship at a European institution or for an independent European project. Such a project has to follow the aims of the Schwarzkopf Foundation Young Europe and needs the approval of the Foundation’s board in order to be accepted.
In addition, the winner will become part of an extensive European network and the growing group of committed prize winners 

 Who awards the prize?   

The prize is awarded by the Schwarzkopf Foundation Young Europe in cooperation with the European Youth Forum.   

Any further questions?   

Please contact Esther Spicker for further quetions. 

Yasmine Ouirhrane (23) is the Young European of the Year 2019! More info.

Before 2008:

2007 – Paul de Kuijer (the Netherlands)

2006 – Burcu Becermen (Turkey)

2005 – Tamas Boros (Hungary)

2004 – Anar Jahangirli (Azerbaijan)

2003 – Adrian Langan (Ireland)

2002 – Mjellma Mehmeti (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia)

2001 – Daciana Oana Mailatescu (Romania)

2000 – Tobias Bütow (Germany)

1999 – Lola Stoppleman de Almudévar (Great Britain)

1998 – Michael Schmitt (Germany)

1997 – David Stulik (Czech Republic)

The “Schwarzkopf Europe Award” is awarded to institutions or public figures who have distinguished themselves in an outstanding way by a committed and dedicated service to either European understanding or the growing together of Europe.

The Margot Friedländer Award calls on young people to deal with the Shoah, remembrance work and human engagement against exclusion, anti-Semitism and racism in the present.

The Schwarzkopf Foundation Young Europe believes that European diversity can best be understood by experiencing it. Our travel grants seek to enable young Europeans to explore and discover their continent, while tackling current political or social questions. By travelling, grantees becomes ambassadors for a united Europe.

Curious how the foundation developed from its founding by Pauline Schwarzkopf 1971 in Hamburg and becoming the umbrella organisation for the EYP in 2004? Find out more about the foundation and its motivation.

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this