Young European of the Year

About the award

The award for the “Young European of the Year” is given to young Europeans aged between 18 and 26 years who have distinguished themselves in an exemplary manner concerning their honorary commitment and dedication in the support of international understanding and/or the integration of Europe.

The award sum is € 5.000. The award is intended to finance a six-month internship with a Member of the European Parliament or at another European institution. It is also possible to use the grant to finance a project which promotes European integration. Such a project has to follow the aims of the Schwarzkopf Foundation Young Europe and needs the approval of the Foundation’s board in order to be accepted.

Speeches and laudatios for the past Young Europeans of the Year can be found here.

Past awardees

  • Preisverleihung
    2018 - Madeleina Kay is a British activist and one of her country's loud voices in favor of European integration. Also know as #EUSuperGirl, Madeleina uses music and art to advocate for the United Kingdom remaining in the European Union, appears publically on a regular basis, and rallies thousands of people on- and offline.


Before 2008:

2007 – Paul de Kuijer (the Netherlands)

2006 – Burcu Becermen (Turkey)

2005 – Tamas Boros (Hungary)

2004 – Anar Jahangirli (Azerbaijan)

2003 – Adrian Langan (Ireland)

2002 – Mjellma Mehmeti (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia)

2001 – Daciana Oana Mailatescu (Romania)

2000 – Tobias Bütow (Germany)

1999 – Lola Stoppleman de Almudévar (Great Britain)

1998 – Michael Schmitt (Germany)

1997 – David Stulik (Czech Republic)