Young election workers for the European elections

In May 2019, it is time again for us to vote in the European Elections. In the light of the ever-increasing lack of trust in democratic institutions and a constant rise of EU-sceptic voices, we want to actively encourage young Europeans to strengthen democracy and get involved in European politics.

Therefore, we will provide training for 100 young Europeans to become first-time polling officers at the upcoming European Elections in Berlin. The training will consist of a day of getting to know the political system of the European Union better and discussions about how to get involved and have a say in Europe. On the second training day, the trainees will get to know the practical skills they will need to take care of a polling station during the elections in May 2019. As a group of young polling officers, these young Europeans will stand up for a democratic and united Europe.

All young people in Berlin between 18-27 years of age are invited to apply. Interested individuals as well as schools from Berlin can sign up here.

We are carrying out this project for the first time in cooperation with the Kreuzberger Kinderstiftung and the Bildungsinstitut Haus Rissen as part of the nation-wide campagne “Erstwahlhelfer”. The project is supported by the foundation Mercator, the federal ministry for family affairs, senior citizens, women and youth through the programme “Demokratie leben!” and the Jugend-Demokratiefonds. The project is furthermore supported by the lead election officer for Berlin.

Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this

Erstwahlhelfer*innen zur Europawahl

Im Mai 2019 finden die Wahlen zum EU-Parlament statt. Insbesondere in Zeiten des zunehmenden Vertrauensverlustes in demokratische Institutionen und EU-Skepsis wollen wir mit unserem Erstwahlhelfer*innen-Projekt einen aktiven Beitrag dazu leisten, junge Menschen für Politik zu begeistern und die Demokratie zu stärken.

Dazu bilden wir in Berlin erstmals 100 junge Erwachsene zu Wahlhelfer*innen bei der Europawahl aus. An einem Tag werdet ihr das politische System der Europäischen Union näher kennenlernen, eure Fragen zu Europa sowie eure Einflussmöglichkeiten diskutieren und eigene politische Anliegen entwickeln. An einem zweiten Tag werden euch praktische Fähigkeiten vermittelt, um am Wahltag ein Wahlbüro betreuen zu können. Als Wahlhelfer*in setzt ihr euch im Anschluss für ein demokratisches Miteinander in Europa ein.

Das Angebot richtet sich an junge Menschen zwischen 18-27 Jahren, insbesondere an solche ohne Abitur. Interessierte sowie Schulen in Berlin können sich hier anmelden.

Das Projekt führen wir erstmals in Berlin mit der Kreuzberger Kinderstiftung und in Kooperation mit dem Bildungsinstitut Haus Rissen als Teil der bundesweiten Kampagne „Erstwahlhelfer“ durch. Gefördert wird das Projekt durch die Stiftung Mercator, das Bundesministerium für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend im Rahmen des Bundesprogramms „Demokratie leben!“ und den Jugend-Demokratiefonds. Die Landeswahlleiterin für Berlin begrüßt und unterstützt das Projekt.

Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this