Be alert! Be human!

“What is this award for? Not for success in sports or writing a good essay. It is rather in recognition of something of boundless importance: your humane engagement. Express your opinion! Be alert! Be human!” Together with its initiator Margot Friedländer, a Holocaust survivor from Berlin, the Margot Friedländer Award is committed to keeping diversity in Europe alive.

Survival

Born in Berlin in 1921, Margot Friedländer survived war and persecution in Berlin’s underground and then in the Theresienstadt concentration camp. In 1946 she emigrated to New York. In 2003 she accepted the invitation of the Berlin Senate to visit her former home city. Thomas Halaczinsky’s documentary “Don’t Call it Heimweh” (USA 2004) documents Margot Friedländer’s visit to Berlin. Her autobiography “Try to Make Your Life” (BEA Press, Potomac USA, 2008) appeared in 2008.

Return to Berlin

After a number of subsequent visits to Berlin, Margot Friedländer decided to move back to the city permanently in 2010. She had her German citizenship restored. On November 9th, 2011, she was awarded the Federal Cross of Merit with Ribbon from President Christian Wulff in Bellevue Palace. Since her return Margot Friedländer has regularly visited schools and other institutions all over Germany to speak about her life and to help young people to develop their moral and civic courage.

Further selected background information about Margot Friedländer:

Honours and awards

  • Honorary citizen of Berlin (together with Inge Deutschkron) (2018)
  • Recipient of the German Jewish History Award from the Obermayer Foundation (2018)
  • Federal Cross of Merit (with Ribbon) of the Order of the Federal Republic of Germany (2011)
  • Recipient of the Einhard Prize (2009)
Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this

Seid wachsam! Seid Menschen!

„Wofür ist dieser Preis? Er ist nicht für einen sportlichen Erfolg oder einen guten Aufsatz, den Ihr geschrieben habt. Er ist vielmehr eine Anerkennung für etwas unendlich Wichtiges, für Euer menschliches Engagement. Sagt Eure Meinung! Seid wachsam! Seid Menschen!“ Der Margot-Friedländer-Preis setzt sich zusammen mit seiner Initiatorin, der aus Berlin stammenden Holocaust-Überlebenden Margot Friedländer für gelebte Vielfalt in Europa ein.

Überleben

Geboren 1921 in Berlin, überlebte Margot Friedländer Verfolgung und Krieg im Untergrund in Berlin und im Konzentrationslager Theresienstadt. Sie emigrierte 1946 nach New York. Im Jahr 2003 nahm Sie eine Einladung des Berliner Senats an und besuchte ihre frühere Heimatstadt. Der Dokumentarfilm „Don’t Call it Heimweh“ von Thomas Halaczinsky (USA 2004) dokumentiert Margot Friedländers Besuch in Berlin. 2008 erschien ihre Autobiografie „Versuche, dein Leben zu machen“ (Rowohlt, Berlin 2008).

Rückkehr nach Berlin

Nach weiteren Berlinbesuchen beschloss Margot Friedländer im Jahr 2010, dauerhaft nach Berlin zurückzukehren. Sie erhielt die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft zurück. Am 9. November 2011 wurde ihr von Bundespräsident Christian Wulff im Schloss Bellevue das Bundesverdienstkreuz am Bande verliehen. Seit ihrer Rückkehr besucht Margot Friedländer regelmäßig Schulen und andere Einrichtungen in ganz Deutschland, um über ihr Leben zu berichten und junge Menschen zu Zivilcourage zu ermutigen.

Am 5. November 2021 wird Margot Friedländer 100 Jahre alt. Passend zum Themenjahr „1700 Jahre jüdisches Leben in Deutschland“ erscheint 2021 ein Interviewbuch von Margot Friedländer mit Sabine Leutheusser-Schnarrenberger, Antisemitismusbeauftragte von Nordrhein-Westfalen. Das Buch trägt den Titel „Ich tue es für Euch“ und beinhaltet persönliche Geschichten Margot Friedländers, den Schrecken und die Lehren der NS-Zeit.

Weitere Hintergründe zu Margot Friedländer:

 

Auszeichnungen

  • Ehrenbürgerin von Berlin (zusammen mit Inge Deutschkron) (2018)
  • German Jewish History Award verliehen von der Obermayer-Stiftung (2018)
  • Verdienstkreuzes am Bande des Verdienstordens der Bundesrepublik Deutschland (2011)
  • Einhard Preis (2009)
Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this