Our work in the PEGAP Consortium and the “Under Pressure” project 

Young people’s media behaviour has come under pressure. 

 

Our youth is more and more exposed to viral disinformation, which is easily accessible online. Traditional media is not appealing to the young generation any longer because they feel underrepresented and disconnected from the presented perspectives in conventional media outlets. This leads to a general distrust in the press and increases the young generations vulnerability to disinformation and polarisation. With this, also the youth’s support for democratic values such as press freedom and freedom of speech is in danger.  

To counter these developments, the Schwarzkopf-Foundation became part of the PEGAP Consortium in 2018. Within the framework of the newly developed project “Under Pressure”, workshops for peer-education in school classes have been developed by our Dutch partners Diversion and DROG, exploring new interactive methods such as gamification elements in the courses. With the multi-player online game “Under Pressure”, which is part of the new course curriculum and acts like a psychological vaccine against disinformation, students will be exposed to several techniques behind the creation and development of fake news, which will equip them with tools to dismantle disinformation in their everyday media consumption also outside of the course. 

With our German Understanding Europe trainers, we will pilot the new course format in classrooms Germany in May and June 2020 to contribute to the development of an international PEGAP course methodology, which will then be available Open Source to a wider European public. The courses will also be tested in Sweden through our partner Fryshuset and all over Europe through our partner AEGEE Europe. A thorough evaluation of the project and its impact is being conducted by the University of Uppsala in Sweden. The project is funded through Erasmus+. 

If you are interested in organising one of these courses at your school or organisation, send us an email. 

Here are some impressions from the Work Visit of the PEGAP Consortium in Amsterdam on 24 January 2020, which our colleague Lena and our peer-trainer Malik from Hamburg attended. 

Image from iOS (1)
Image from iOS (1)

Image from iOS
Image from iOS

Image_from_ios
Image_from_ios

 

 

Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this

Wir sind Teil des PEGAP Konsortiums und des „Under Pressure“ Projekts 

Die Mediennutzung von Jugendlichen ist im Wandel und wird immer komplexer. 

 

Die Jugend ist heutzutage immer mehr sich schnell verbreitenden Fehlinformationen ausgesetzt, von denen sie im Netz überflutet wird. Nicht nur traditionelle Medienformate scheinen aufgrund einer Unterrepräsentanz junger Perspektiven und Narrative in den Medien Jugendliche nicht mehr anzusprechen, Jugendliche heutzutage scheinen grundsätzlich das Vertrauen in die Presse verloren zu haben, was sie nur noch anfälliger macht r polarisierende Haltungen und Fehlinformationen. Mit diesen wachsenden skeptischen Einstellungen traditionellen Medien gegenüber verschwindet die Übereinstimmung Jugendlicher mit demokratischen Werten wie Presse- und Meinungsfreiheit immer mehr. 

Um diesen Entwicklungen entgegenzuwirken ist die Schwarzkopf-Stiftung seit 2018 Teil des PEGAP Konsortiums. Unsere niederländischen Partner Diversion und DROG, die das neue Peer-to-Peer KursformatUnder Pressureentwickelt haben, ließen vor allem neue Methoden und Herangehensweisen der Gamification in die Entwicklung des Peer-to-Peer Kursformats einfließen. Der neue Kurs Under Pressure“ und das neu entwickelte Multiplayer-Spiel, das einen Teil des Kursplans einnimmt, sollen wie eine psychologische Impfung gegen Fehlinformationen wirken. Schüler*innen werden im Laufe der sechs Kapitel des Spiels sechs unterschiedlichen Techniken der Verbreitung von Fake News kennenlernen, was sie dazu befähigen soll, Fake News und Fehlinformationen auch in ihrem Alltag und in ihrer täglichen Mediennutzung zu erkennen. 

Mithilfe unseres deutschen Europa Verstehen Trainer*innenteams werden wir das „Under Pressure“ Kursformat im Mai und Juni 2020 in Deutschen Klassenzimmern testen, um so an einer internationalen PEGAP-Methodologie mitzuarbeiten, die in unterschiedlichen nationalen Kontexten funktionieren kann und nach der Finalisierung auch als Open Source online zugängig gemacht wird. Die Kurse werden außerdem in Schweden von unserem Partner Fryshuset getestet, sowie in ganz Europa über die Teilorganisationen unseres Partners AEGEE Europe. Die Universität Uppsala evaluiert als Teil des Konsortiums die Kurse und die Wirkung auf die Teilnehmer*innen der Testkurse. Gefördert wird dieses Projekt durch Erasmus+. 

Wenn Sie Interesse daran haben, einen „Under Pressure“-Testkurs an Ihrer Schule oder in Ihrer Organisation zu organisieren, freuen wir uns, wenn Sie sich bei uns melden. 

Am 24. Januar 2020 fand in Amsterdam ein Treffen der PEGAP Konsortiumspartner statt, an dem unsere Kollegin Lena und unser Peer-Trainer Malik aus Hamburg teilgenommen haben. Hier ein paar Eindrücke davon:  

Image from iOS (1)
Image from iOS (1)

Image from iOS
Image from iOS

Image_from_ios
Image_from_ios

 

 

 

Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this