Nominate now: Young European of the Year 2023

You know someone, who is dedicated to fight for a more just, pluralistic and solidary European society? Then nominate the Young European of 2023 until April 10. The awardee will receive 5000 € which can be used for an internship in a European institution or for a project which promotes European integration and solidarity.

We are looking for young, committed young people between the age of 18 and 26 who make Europe a better place through their engagement to a pluralistic, open European society of solidarity or to fight against injustice and all forms of discrimination. Through their commitment and dedication, they inspire other young people and show leadership and responsibility in their field of engagement.

Last Years award winner Anahita Neghabat from Austria is a social anthropologist and meme making political educator. In her work, Anahita uses memes as a visual vocabulary, medium and tool for political commentary, reaching a broad and young audience of almost 24 thousand people on Instagram – speaking from an intersectional feminist, anti-racist and anti-authoritarian perspective. Find out more about the other awarded Young Europeans of recent years here.

You can nominate your Young European until 10 April 2023.

What is there to win?

The prize is endowed with 5000 €, which can be used for an internship in a European institution. It is also possible to use the grant to finance a project which promotes European integration and solidarity. Such a project must follow the aims of the Schwarzkopf Foundation Young Europe and needs the approval of the Foundation’s board to be accepted.

In addition, the winner will automatically be part of the jury of the Schwarzkopf Europe Award. We will promote visibility for their cause through events, our large European network and support in public relations.

Who can win the Award?

To be eligible for nomination, the nominee must be between 18 and 26 years old and active in at least one of the member states of the Council of Europe in the ways described above.

Who is part of the jury?

A jury consisting of the managing director of the Schwarzkopf Foundation, a representative of the European Commission in Germany, and former award winners will decide who will receive the award.

We are looking forward to receiving your nominations!

Any questions?